You Are You, Not Someone Else

It’s been a quiet five days. Sorry about that.

Of course, when I say quiet, I mean on here. The blogging world. In everyday life, it hasn’t been so quiet.

Armouring, Heavy Combat, Photo Shoot Planning, Essay Writing, Persona Research, Dance…

So many things.

I made a piece of elbow/knee (depending on who it’s for) armour on Sunday with a bit of help. For my first try, I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. It took me a bit of time to become happy with my effort though. Being the perfectionist I am, I kept getting frustrated with myself for various things at the time, for little mistakes made. It’s ridiculous to expect myself to be able to get it perfect first time round, but when you’ve spent your whole life putting expectations on yourself that are probably too high for you to reach because it’s what others have expected of you, it’s hard to break away from that. I don’t just mean challenging myself either…

There have been so many times in the past when people have said to me “so-and-so can do it, why can’t you?” and so I’ve pushed myself to try to achieve the same level of success. The majority of the time, I would fall short and add my disappointment in myself to the disappointment coming from other people.

Afterwards, I was told that I had done a good job given that it had been my first effort.

By the end of the day, I got a new point of view (one that will probably seem really obvious, but that had never really come to mind due to my perfectionistic mindset). It’s okay to make mistakes. It’s okay if you aren’t perfect. No one is able to do things perfectly first time round. It can take ages to get things to the point where they are even close to perfect, never mind perfect in themselves. We are constantly learning, constantly improving. You are you, not someone else. If someone else can do something to a certain standard and you can’t, it doesn’t mean you are a failure, it just means you haven’t reached that level of ability yet.

It’s something for me to keep in mind and remember next time I get frustrated with myself for not being perfect.

Until next time,

The Nocturnal Philosopher 🙂

~ by thenocturnalphilosopher on 31/05/2012.

2 Responses to “You Are You, Not Someone Else”

  1. Everything we do should be a treated like a piece of art, which each attempt we have a go at, we get better at it.

  2. Indeed 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

Share Your Opinion

 
