Insomnia + Blank Film + Missing Essay = Not Happy

Not being able to sleep while interesting thoughts are prompting meaningful conversation with yourself is one thing.

Not being able to sleep while the only thought floating around in your head is ‘damn it, why can’t I sleep’ is another.

I think I got a maximum of 1 hour of sleep last night (well, okay, technically it was 6am this morning) and somehow I still managed to drag myself out of bed at 7am, get ready, find my notes on the value of film photography, print out a heap of other notes, buy phone credit and get to the darkroom at school by 9:30am without falling asleep behind the wheel. I was quite impressed with myself.

Then naturally, things began to go wrong.

I got to the darkroom and was lucky enough to get there shortly before one of my classmates was about to develop her film too. So we timed everything at the same time, did the same things. Her negatives turned out okay. Mine turned out blank. Naturally I was pissed off and… well, all I can say is I’m glad that we were the only ones in the darkroom given how vulgar my tongue decided to become 😉 So I had to go to our teacher and inform him that I had a blank film to donate to the container of blank films used to teach new students how to load, unload and prepare the film for developing. We came to the conclusion that the film had slipped around inside the camera while loaded as a result of not having been tightened enough while being put in. I guess it’s probably because I was trying to load the film as quickly as I could on the photography excursion to the city and getting frustrated. I obviously didn’t tighten it enough when it finally did load (loading film and I don’t get along very well).

After that disappointment I decided to do some work on my essay on the value of film photography, only to discover that I had my notes, but not my partially completed essay. So I just read through my notes a couple of times and then I did a bit more planning for my photo shoots. Well, one of them anyway.

After finally having the time to investigate the quality of the chai lattes at the cafeteria ($3.50 for a large one, cheaper than other non-tea leaf chai lattes in the city and of about the same quality), I decided to go to the library and have a look at my notes for my first attempt at writing a natal chart interpretation. I did some work on it, but after a while I realised that if I didn’t hurry up and drive home then I would probably end up micro-sleeping on the way. So I didn’t get to do much work on it in the end. *sigh*

So instead of going to training tonight like I was planning, I’m writing this instead. I mean, I probably could have driven there okay, but I’m not sure if I could say the same thing about the drive home after two hours of training…

Oh well. Hopefully tomorrow will be better 🙂

Here’s hoping today went well for you all,

The Nocturnal Philosopher 🙂

~ by thenocturnalphilosopher on 14/05/2012.

One Response to “Insomnia + Blank Film + Missing Essay = Not Happy”

  1. I have had those sort of days too, part of life.

Share Your Opinion

 
