Treat Others As You Would Like To Be Treated

So very angry right now.

It’s one thing to attack someone because of their beliefs. It’s another to attack someone because of their beliefs while at the same time accusing that person of attacking yours when that was not what they were trying to do at all. Not that the first one isn’t bad. It’s very bad. But the fact that someone I know did this to someone who is a friend of mine and is also meant to be a friend of theirs too today is making me very angry! Very very angry!

(I won’t be mentioning any names though).

What was meant to be a funny variant of an internet meme (you know, the what people think I do/what I really do one) was perceived as an attack on this person’s religion and they basically lashed out at my friend and attacked them for it, even though my friend was not trying to do that at all. Ironically, another Christian who commented on the picture found it funny and didn’t consider it an attack at all.

You would think that as someone who knows that my friend doesn’t approve of bashing other’s beliefs, that they would realise that it was in no way an attack, but apparently not.

I don’t care if you have different beliefs from me. I don’t care if you disagree with my beliefs. But I do care if you attack me and my beliefs because you don’t agree. And I do care if you accuse me of doing the same to you if I haven’t.

I’m sorry that you have to read through this angry post. I wish the belief attack had never happened. But it did and all we can do now is make an effort to prevent things like that from happening again.

Treat others as you would like to be treated. A good rule to follow in all aspects of life. Funnily enough, it’s also something that Christians are told they should do. Clearly this person forgot that.

Thank you to all you lovely readers for making it through this post. And remember that my anger isn’t directed at any of you, but at this person (this is just one of a long line of less than lovely things they’ve done).

Until next time,

The Nocturnal Philosopher 🙂

(Part 4 coming up next! :))

~ by thenocturnalphilosopher on 09/05/2012.

2 Responses to “Treat Others As You Would Like To Be Treated”

  1. All the main religions has the idea: do unto others what you expect done to you.

  2. Indeed, though sadly, it seems that many forget.

Share Your Opinion

 
