What do I believe? What do I want? Part 3

So what do I believe then?

There are so many different beliefs out there and people believe that their beliefs are true. The trouble is, that there are many contradictions and so it would seem therefore, that some of these beliefs must be false.

The question is: how do we figure out which beliefs are true and which are false.

The thing is, what holds true for one person isn’t necessarily what holds true for another. So a lot of the time it’s a case of figuring out what beliefs you consider to be true, rather than assigning each belief you encounter with a permanent true or false label.

I personally am not so sure that God exists as a single entity, given that I’ve never really had any reason to believe it. The only proof I have of God existing is from hearing people say it and from reading it in the Bible. But as far as I recall, the only time I’ve ever personally experienced ‘God’ was the time I wrote about in Part 1 where I hurt my ankle. And as I said, there are a lot of different energies (also referred to in Part 1) that could have been responsible for that.

So in that aspect, I believe that there are energies in the Universe. I include this because I have proof of it.

Of course, you may be wondering, “well, if ‘God’ doesn’t exist as a single entity, then why are people able to do things like this while addressing their Gods/Goddesses?” My answer to that is that I believe people are harnessing these energies from a religious point of view, and then putting it down to their Gods/Goddesses allowing them to make the event happen.

I like to associate the five elements (Fire, Earth, Air, Water and Spirit) with these energies and aspects of personality, focusing on a specific one depending on the qualities of that element and what I am trying to do. It seems right to me to do that, since these elements create and destroy life. I see elementals as representations of these elements energies, though, who knows, they may exist in other realms. But until I experience it personally I will leave that belief to the side.

Speaking of representations, I see various Deities, like the elements, as representations of energies and different aspects of personality, rather than as actual Gods and Goddesses that are alive and answer people’s prayers (although I find the mythology fascinating :)) like people in official religions do. Rather than believe in them, I consider myself to be the creator of my own life, a goddess I suppose you could say (check out the link: Getting to Know Your Inner Goddess). This means that I am responsible for the things that are attracted to me, the good things and bad things. This has meant that I’ve had to do (and am still finishing) a massive thought overhaul, as I believed that there was nothing I could do about any of it, that my life was all planned out in a book in Heaven (as I have been taught in church). Considering myself the creator of my own life has made me realise that I do have the power to make my life how I want it to be. Now I just have to work out the specifics of what it is that I want.

Until next time,

The Nocturnal Philosopher 🙂

 

(Part 4 will be posted in a day or two, depending on how busy I am over the next couple of days).

~ by thenocturnalphilosopher on 03/05/2012.

Share Your Opinion

 
